Even a Thirteen-Year-Old Knows Slut-Shaming is Wrong

Here’s a quickie post today, featuring a very intelligent and admirable 13-year-old girl. I thought about holding off on it until next week, but I thought, the internets need to know now!

The video comes from a young vlogger called astrorice, the kind of young woman I would want my own daughter to be like. She masterfully defines slut shaming and articulates the effects it has on the society at large. Not afraid of making important but potentially controversial points, she also explains how it supports rape culture by perpetuating the idea that some women “ask for it.”

I love, love, love this video, and I wish everyone on the planet could see it. I wish more thirteen-year-olds (girls and boys) were this mature and thoughtful. And this brave! This girl risked the cruel, ignorant censure of YouTube comments so that she could speak out against something she believes in. Right on!

-Joanna

One thought on “Even a Thirteen-Year-Old Knows Slut-Shaming is Wrong

  1. I admit that when I started this video I was expecting something of an emotional appeal against slut-shaming, possibly not even called by name. Maybe it was influenced by the post title – who knows. I was obviously wrong about that. Part of me is actually a little sad that it wasn’t, after all, children and teenagers have a surprising ability to cut through, as she puts it, bullshit and say things for what they are.

    On the other hand, though…That girl is fucking awesome! Excuse my language, but I text is an insufficient medium for my joy and surprise. She’s really smart and so heartfelt. Not to mention that she has an excellent sense of when to put on sunglasses!

    It’s not really a video that expanded my understanding of our society or the pressures that people face and I sincerely hope that that’s not an uncommon issue, but thanks for posting this. I generally think that I give teenagers more credit than many, but it’s really nice to be reminded that they are often, and that people are often, kinder and better informed than we might think. I have to agree entirely with you: I desperately hope that if I have a daughter she’s as kind, brave, and insightful as this girl. And I hope we’ll both get to see a world where every parent gets to see that dream come true and, as a result, a world that is safer and fairer to every daughter.

Leave a Reply

