The Avengers: Final Words

Since Tuesday night, I thought this week’s post would be about my disappointment in my home state for passing Amendment One, and all of the reasons why, despite my heartbreak, it’s still unfair to blame/shame rural areas (i.e. usually the poorest and least educated) for being less progressive than metropolitan areas. However, though I’ve cleared up my mind enough to write that post, it would probably turn into that book on the South I’m going to write one day. So instead, I’m going to share my almost-week-old thoughts on The Avengers, like everyone else on the internet.

Now that I’ve gotten that explanation out of the way, bring on the exclamation marks! I fucking loved this movie! I already want to watch it again. The day after I saw it I wanted to watch it again. Everything was so amazing! I walked out of the theater and texted Bat Cat: THE AVENGERS WAS AWESOME. I WOULD CHANGE LITERALLY NOTHING. That’s how excited I was. It currently has an 8.8 rating on IMDB, which is pretty ridiculous, but is it really that ridiculous? Probably. But it was so awesome! Before this post gets too stupid, here’s some specific thoughts:

1. Joss Whedon should write and direct all Hollywood movies. Hollywood would be so much fun. (And if Joss Whedon wasn’t confined by the storylines of others, he’d put in more than 1 1/2 female characters.) I had my concerns that, since Joss Whedon hasn’t had this kind of budget before, he might screw it up. But I think the balance of action, banter, and character development was perfect. It was the right kind of funny, with the right kind of action, with the right kind of emphasis on character’s motivations and personalities.

2. I’m in love with this portrayal of the Black Widow. I want to redo every superheroine movie (all three of them) and have Joss Whedon write and direct them, and then erase the old versions from history, and then make a movie about every superheroine who should have a movie but doesn’t (like STORM!). Seriously. Not only was Black Widow an actual character with non-gendered spy/assassin motivations, but they did an awesome job choreographing and filming her action sequences. The only ass we saw every five seconds was her badass! Whedon also did a great job emphasizing her excellent interrogation skills, and didn’t only allow her to do one or two badass things in the movie. She consistently kicked ass and was more important to the movie that the poster (or any advertising) might lead you to believe. (This is yet another reason why Joss Whedon should be given the title of Writer/Director for All Movies Ever, Especially Superhero Ones.) This picture only shows about 1% of her total awesome:

3. It didn’t even feel like 2 1/2 hours. After the first 20 minutes or so, the movie flew by, unlike some movies of similar length (see: Christopher Nolan’s entire catalogue).

4. My fears about Mark Ruffalo playing the Hulk were unfounded. I actually really liked him as Dr. Banner, but possibly because of how peripheral his character was. I’m still unconvinced he could star in a movie, especially as the Hulk. (When I think about Mark Ruffalo being the protagonist of a movie, my mind starts to melt.)

5. The Captain-America-doesn’t-know-anything-about-the-21st-century humor didn’t go overboard. I thought it was just perfect the way it was. (I’m also glad Joss Whedon took out the other scenes that focused on Cap. I just can’t stand people who are lawful good but aren’t Aragorn.)

6. Like I mentioned above, the way the characters interacted was perfect. Take this moment:

Some people said that they thought the humor was too obvious, but I disagree. Put these people in a room together, and that’s exactly what would happen. Captain America and Iron Man wouldn’t get along. The Cap would say something like that, and that’s what Iron Man would say in response. In addition to being funny, it’s good characterization.

Those are my main reasons why The Avengers definitely lives up to the hype! I haven’t been this excited about a movie I’ve seen in a while. It makes me wish it didn’t cost a zillion dollars to go to the movies, because this blog could benefit from some consistent movie reviewing. (Although, come June, expect a post about Prometheus and Michael Fassbender’s beautiful robot self.) Thus concludes my final post (probably) about The Avengers!

-Joanna

2 thoughts on “The Avengers: Final Words

  1. I agree that Mark Ruffalo was very engaging as the Hulk, and I had no doubts going in that Black Widow would be handled well. As for the humor being obvious, this is actually the first time I’ve heard that anyone’s been making that argument. It definitely wasn’t anywhere close to as obvious as we usually see with American humor.

    • I only heard one person make that argument, actually. Most people I’ve spoken to and most reviews I’ve seen thought the humor was just right. I wasn’t too surprised to encounter that argument, though, because when people don’t like Joss Whedon’s work, it’s usually because they dislike the type of humor he uses.

Leave a Reply

