How to Avoid Writing a Real Post

Whew, all that not being patriotic on July 4th was exhausting or something! So I’m allowing myself a lazy post today. (Sorry, rest of the world that didn’t get to pretend to like their country yesterday.) Behold, the linkspam!

– Someone who wrote in to the blog STFU Moffat helped me to understand why sometimes the 11th Doctor says things that make me a little uncomfortable:

Another problem I see with Moffat is his alleged ‘self insertion’ within the Doctors character. After reading through this blog, I have come to see why I was so uncomfortable with the 11th Doctor as a character. As much I like 11 some of his lines seem very OOC. As a fan who has watched both old and new who, I as a viewer have come to understand that the Doctor is someone who can and will accept anyone (unless you are about to commit a terrible crime, which even then he’s willing to give them a second chance). One of the lines (I can’t remember exactly how it goes) mentions that River is so emotionally changeable because she is a woman. (wanting to kill him but then suddenly wanting to marry him). Personally I think that the Doctor as a character would have left it just as ‘brainwashing’, instead of adding that she is woman.

The whole comment can be found here.

– Here’s Jay Smooth’s take on How to Tell Someone They Sound Racist. This video is really old, but it became relevant to me yesterday when a member of my D&D group posted a Facebook status with some not-so-subtle racist undertones. (Let’s just say it had to do with assuming not just that “Hispanic” means “immigrant,” but “undocumented immigrant,” and probably “criminal.”) I wasn’t sure how to confront the comment, since I didn’t want it to go unremarked on, and I wanted to convey “that sounded racist” without seeming to say “you are a racist.” I thought of this video, and thought I’d spread it today, in case any of you intrepid readers find yourself in the same awkward position.

– I know Namor’s never been the most clothed of characters, but the Phoenix Force and I seem to be on the same page with male costuming. Dear Marvel: dress more male characters like this, all the time. And then draw them bending over like Emma Frost always is. That will finally not be a false equivalence.

-If you’re still bitter about the new(ish) Star Wars trilogy and will probably take your anger at George Lucas to the grave, you’ll enjoy this parody of Gotye’s “Somebody That I Used to Know.”

– And, because puppets, Alan Moore and Neil Gaiman.

‘Til next week!

-Joanna

Leave a Reply

